Police and crime commissioners

Police and crime commissioners are elected by the public to ensure the policing needs of communities are met as effectively as possible and to oversee how crime is tackled in your police force area.

Dafydd Llywelyn

As your current Commissioner, operational, front-line policing has, and always will come before party politics. I have a strong track record of delivering on my promises and of listening to the communities of Dyfed Powys. I am proud of what I have achieved since 2016, but there is still so much to do.

I am an approachable individual and I believe in listening to all members of the community in order to shape a successful police force.

Since 2016, I have increased resources whilst also retaining the lowest council tax levels in Wales.  During that time, we’ve seen:

  • 150 more Police Officers;
  • 150 more Police Staff;
  • A CCTV system that is monitored 24/7 by police staff;
  • A dedicated rural crime team;
  • A focus on county lines drug dealing to target organised crime;
  • Investment in Youth Offending Teams to divert young people away from crime;
  • A new Offender Diversionary Scheme to reduce re-offending.

If re – elected:

  • I will safeguard Neighbourhood Policing resources retaining a visible local policing presence;
  • I will invest in the Communications Centre to ensure an accessible service;
  • I will continue to put the victim at the heart of the service and develop a truly victim led service;
  • I will work with operational staff to keep local police stations open;
  • I will invest in a new and refreshed School Police programme to deliver early intervention and preventative work;
  • I will prioritise working in partnership with organisations and agencies to safeguard the most vulnerable in society.

Your safety is my top priority. I want to ensure that the Dyfed Powys Police Force remains one of the safest places to live in Wales and England.

Promoted by Arwel Lloyd, Pengwern, Rhydargaeau, Carmarthen, SA32 7DT.

Contact Details










Other candidates in Dyfed-Powys

Philippa Ann Thompson

Labour and Co-operative Party / Llafur a'r Blaid Gydweithredol

Read more
Philippa Ann Thompson - Portrait

Ian Harrison

Conservative Candidate – More Police, Safer Streets

Read more
Ian Harrison - Portrait

Justin Griffiths

Welsh Liberal Democrats / Democratiaid Rhyddfrydol Cymru

Read more
Justin Griffiths - Portrait